Enterprise Zones

There are 18 Colorado enterprise zones. An enterprise zone is an area where special tax incentives are offered because the area is economically lagging. The ten benefits include:
  1. 3% equipment tax credit
  2. Job tax credit; $500 tax credit per employee for new and expanding businesses
  3. If you process agricultural commodities, there is a job tax credit for new businesses
  4. If you offer health insurance, there is a tax credit for new hires
  5. Manufacturing and mining businesses are exempt from sales tax on equipment
  6. There is a research and development tax credit
  7. There is a credit for contributions made to enterprise zones to implement the economic development plan of that zone
  8. Tax credits are available for rehabilitation of vacant commercial buildings
  9. There are tax credits if you provide a qualified job training program (10% of eligible training costs).
  10. Local government tax incentives may be negotiated.
Archuleta County, Southwest La Plata Co., southeast La Plata Co., and sections of Durango have been designated enterprise zones. Click here for a map.. For more information about the enterprise zone, visit http://www.scan.org/detail_enterprise_zone.html.